THE COURTHOUSE

Ajouter à
ma liste d'envies
puis imprimez ou partagez votre parcours

Once the bishop’s residence, the courthouse stands out for its stunning classical architecture

The old bishop residence

Starting in the 7th century, the city of Thérouanne was the seat of a powerful diocese, but in 1553, Charles Quint commanded its total destruction. The cathedral and the bishop of Thérouanne disappeared, and in turn, the collegial church Notre-Dame of Saint Omer became a cathedral in 1561. It was erected in the previous location of the church founded by Saint Omer in the 7th century. It was surrounded by an enclosure lined by the former houses of priests and clerks who made up the canon of the cathedral. The house of the provost of the canon was rebuilt in the 18th century after burning down and ultimately became the bishop’s residence.

French architecture

In 1677, the territory of St-Omer was turned back over to the French kingdom under Louis XIV. The area was frenchified, particularly in its architecture causing the Flemish influence to cede to French styles. The bishops named by the king were agents of this expansion of French culture, and the former bishop’s residence is a perfect example of French classicism.

The residence was a mansion with an exquisite garden and court. Its facade is understated and simple, but also very monumental. It is evident in its style that the construction expressed the power of the Church and the glory of the king, particularly in the pediment featuring the Sun King as the leader watching over his people and the whole earth, offering abundance and plenty. The Sun King’s motto is of couse present: “nec pluribus impar” or literally “not unequal to many,” implying his sufficiency and superiority.

The residence was confiscated in the French Revolution and became the courthouse in 1795.

To learn more

More information

Adresse : Rue des tribunaux

Ville : Saint-Omer

PALAIS DE JUSTICE

Ajouter à
ma liste d'envies
puis imprimez ou partagez votre parcours

Ancien palais épiscopal, le palais de justice étonne
par son architecture classique typique.

Un ancien palais épiscopal

Depuis le VIIe siècle la cité de Thérouanne est le siège d’un puissant évêché. Mais en 1553 Charles Quint ordonne sa destruction totale. La cathédrale et l’évêché de Thérouanne disparus, c’est la collégiale Notre-Dame de Saint-Omer qui est érigée en cathédrale en 1561. Cette collégiale s’élève à l’emplacement d’une église fondée par saint Omer au VIIe siècle, et est entourée d’un enclos où s’alignent les maisons des chanoines (religieux prêtre ou clerc vivant en communauté, sous la Règle de saint Augustin). L’ancienne maison du prévôt des chanoines, qui avait subi un incendie, est reconstruite au XVIIIe siècle pour devenir le palais épiscopal (qui appartient à l’évêque).

Une architecture française

En 1677, Louis XIV rattache Saint-Omer au royaume de France. La francisation du territoire s’opère notamment par l’architecture : les inspirations flamandes cèdent la place aux modes françaises. Les évêques, nommés par le roi, sont des agents de l’expansion de l’art français. Le palais épiscopal est une parfaite illustration du classicisme à la française.

Le Palais épiscopal se présente comme un hôtel particulier bâti entre cour et jardin. La façade, aussi sobre soit-elle, est monumentale : il s’agit bien d’un palais, qui doit exprimer la puissance de l’Eglise. C’est aussi un édifice à la gloire du roi, comme en atteste le fronton. Le roi soleil, qui guide et réchauffe son peuple, surplombe le globe terrestre et des cornes d’abondance. La devise est conquérante : « nec pluribus impar », « je suffirai à tout ».

Le palais est confisqué à la Révolution française. Il devient palais de justice en 1795.

Pour en savoir plus…

Infos complémentaires

Adresse : Rue des tribunaux

Ville : Saint-Omer